Milestone Fifty

Horse MomFifty years ago today, in a hospital in Vancouver, British Columbia, at 3:41 p.m. Pacific Standard Time, I drew my first breath.

Seems odd that already a half century has gone by. Still, this does not depress me. I’ve been engaged enough in self-awareness exercises during the past several years to realize that my life is, in fact, just beginning.

I still have dreams and things I’d like to accomplish.

Sometimes I wonder, “Am I too old?”

No.

Age is more than a number. It’s everything behind it that has made me who I am.

So it is with gratitude and a burning desire to fulfill my measure here on Earth that I continue boldly along the path of my life.

Thank you for being a part of my journey …

Be well,

Dorothy 🙂

*

Milestone Fifty

Stand I now by Milestone Fifty.

Could be nasty; could be nifty.

Could depress me; make me cry.

Could hang my head with a heavy sigh.

Could devour my tender heart,

Yet that’s not how I wish to start

The waning years that fly so fast,

Engage, I must, to the very last

Inspired breath I dare to take

And gasp I give, for goodness sake.

For age is more than just a number

Can give us strength and fill with wonder.

Clouds with silver lining weep

For those who to their golden years creep.

*

Copyright Aimwell CreativeWorks 2012

7 thoughts on “Milestone Fifty

  1. A very inspiring post. Age is but a number as most of my friends would tell me. What matters is how we live those years and celebrate them with all our heart. Living, loving, laughing, learning everyday, every year. 50 is the new 30 and 40 is the new 20. See, we’re even getting younger. Love it! Happy New Year!

  2. Dorothy, I’m serious. You look much younger than you are! And a belated Happy Birthday…

    You also have some beautiful “pics” here as well. I’m happy to be sharing here at WordPress.

    Take care,
    Skip

      • Two pieces of advise which are good at any age! Don’t lose that smile of yours, and be sure to wear it on the “inside” as well!

        Take care,
        Skip

Leave a Reply

