The Art of Veil Painting … What do you suppose?

In past posts featuring my veil paintings I’ve been in the habit of sharing with you my own interpretation of these works. This time I’m going to leave it wide open to see if our vision is shared without me hinting at anything.

Again, with this watercolour technique nothing is “pre-meditated.” Everything happens on the flow of the breath and in the moment.

So … what do you suppose is going on here?

Thanks for visiting …

Dorothy πŸ™‚

Copyright Aimwell Enterprises 2012

8 thoughts on “The Art of Veil Painting … What do you suppose?

  1. I’ve sat back in my office chair for a couple minutes pondering this. I have no idea to be honest and feel like I would insult if I said the wrong thing. It’s sort of sci-fi to me. Leads you to a mystery, what may be on the other side?

    • Thanks for your comment. … You can’t say the wrong thing because whatever you see if personal to you. I’m merely curious. If you see sci-fi that’s fantastic for you and I could not possibly judge it. Your experience is your own. I see something quite different. Neither is right, or wrong … it just is. πŸ™‚ … Thanks for visiting … Be well, Dorothy πŸ™‚

  2. I love this! My first thought was a uterus. I could not figure out why I thought this until I spotted the fetus sitting in the right hand lower corner. Furthermore, the baby has breasts so the symbolism is a woman in the midst of transformation, birthing a new life.

    I have done several of these myself and did not like them at first. But I put them aside and when I came back to them, saw them in such a different way. Some I really like even thought the technique needs some practice. I live just sitting and looking at them until something suddenly pops out. Lovely meditation. Thanks so much for introducing me to this art form. Hugs, pat

    • Thanks for your visit and comment, Pat. I’m thrilled that you are finding so much meaning in the veil painting, both to observe and participate in. … Your interpretation of this particular painting is really interesting. As the artist I am, indeed, a woman in transformation birthing a new life. Thank you for sharing that. It makes the painting all the more meaningful to me.

      I will reveal my own interpretation of this painting when I post the next one.

      Be well and thanks again for your support and interaction … Dorothy πŸ™‚

  3. To me, I see a woman in the lower right hand corner — leaning back with her knees slightly bent … she appears to be looking up through a canopy — dreaming and/or meditating.

    Lovely ~~

    • I am marvelled by your, and others, interpretation of this painting. Just goes to show we all see beauty in our own individual ways. I will offer my interpretation soon. … Thanks for visiting this post and sharing your point of view, Becca. … Be well, Dorothy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

