The Pool

As poems go this is pretty deep, written a couple of years ago when I was staring into the dark abyss of my pain while involved in some rather gruelling counselling.

I’ve made no secret of the fact that I’ve been seeking help to rid myself of a life time of emotional baggage. Doing so has been one of the best decisions of my life.

Fortunately, I’m not teetering on the pool’s edge anymore. I’ve dealt with the worst of the agony. Now, with the support of some important teachers and mentors I am focused on living … thriving.

I am grateful.

*

The Pool

I am standing at the edge,

Staring into an abyss of pain.

One step, just one step more

And to the dark pool I drop

Like a stone heading for

Rock bottom. There

Impact meets emotion

And a swell of the surreal

Circles in ever-growing

Impulses around me,

Rising and falling

With a cleansing rain

Of tears

Until it makes waves

No more and again the

Pool is still.

Peaceful.

Waiting.

*

Thanks for visiting …

Dorothy πŸ™‚

Copyright Aimwell Enterprises 2012

2 thoughts on “The Pool

  1. Beautifully penned, heartfelt. These dark moments are familiar to all of us, I am sure. It helps to know that others have also experienced them and grown past them. Thank you for sharing, Dorthy. Hugs, pat

    • Thanks, Pat. Looking back on those moments is certainly more palatable than being in the middle of them. And I firmly believe that each of those cloudy, stormy moments has a silver lining … I’ve experienced enough to know. … Always appreciate your support. Be well, Dorothy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

