Solo

I had a close friend in mind when writing this poem of the same generation of others recently shared in this blog. It wasn’t until several years later, after experiencing divorce  and seeking help to deal with personal issues that I realized the subject of this poem was actually me.

I’m pleased to say I have come through with flying colours …

Solo

Upon her comfort

Perch she sits,

Gazing out to

Horizons golden-

Veiled, and longing

For the gilt touch

Upon her furrowed brow.

Not so far, the flight ~

But, ah, so

Alone.

The nest now but empty,

A cagéd prison

Of her untested fear.

But, the sun ~

The sun does so beckon

And the warmth

Upon her back

Would be so fine.

Thou agéd wings unfold,

Perchance the light upon this

Solo flight to shine.

*

Copyright Aimwell Enterprises 2012

8 thoughts on “Solo

  1. One of my favorite compliments is when someone says to me, “Gee, I wish I had written that!” 🙂 Such a beautiful and thought provoking poem. Thank you for sharing it. I have lived alone for many years and have found a kind of peace and introspective way of living that long hours of silence gives me. hugs, pat

  2. Great poem! Well done on this! 🙂

    I write poetry too. If you’re interested you’re more than welcome to take a look:

    “Dance, Dance Under the Rain!”: http://subhanzein.wordpress.com/2012/03/02/dance-dance-under-the-rain/
    “Whirling Towards the Divinity”: http://subhanzein.wordpress.com/2012/02/03/whirling-towards-the-divinity-2/
    “Love is the Water of Life”: http://subhanzein.wordpress.com/2012/02/22/love-is-the-water-of-life/
    “A Hug from My Heart”: http://subhanzein.wordpress.com/2012/02/29/pantun-sz-012012/

    Please feel free to have a look at them and I do hope that you will like what I have in store for you! 🙂

    Thank you and have a great day! 🙂

    Warm regards from Down Under,

    Subhan Zein

    • Hello Subhan! Thank you for visiting my blog “Reflections” and for your lovely comment. … I have read both poems you sent and they, too, are well done … spirited and honest. I like that. Feel free to drop by my blog any time. Be well … Dorothy 🙂

    • Thank you for visiting and for your comment, Chito. You are right, there is nothing wrong with being alone. However, when a person is not used to it, it can be a scary place to be. We’re all really flying solo on this journey called life. How we end up often depends on who we choose to fly with. … May you enjoy your journey in peace. … Be well, Dorothy 🙂

Leave a Reply

