The Voyage

Upon life’s billowing seas
My vessel is swept
Windward. I am
Storm-tossed
And swell-swallowed,
Brine-stung
And surge-whipped.
I steer my battered
But unbroken ship
Upon the crashing waves  ~
Afloat I remain.
My vessel salt-stained
And wind-lashed,
Yet a survivor.
In calmer waters,
Renewed in  purpose,
Resolved, am I, to press on.
The map is charted
And though off course blown
Yet will I arrive.
It is my destiny.

*

I wrote this poem almost 14 years ago, yet to me the sentiment still holds true.

This vessel that is my life has certainly had its ups and down since the penning of this verse. Divorce, depression, flourishing new relationship, loss, gain, etc., have all played their parts in honing and shaping me to be the person I am today. And no doubt this refining process will continue going forward.

We don’t always know why things happen in our lives the way they do. But I can say from my own experience that as challenging as life has been for me sometimes the rewards for staying the course, through storm and on calm seas, have been worth it.

Of course, the journey is not over quite yet … Stay tuned …

Copyright Aimwell Enterprises 2012

3 thoughts on “The Voyage

  1. Words to live by . all the ups and downs are what make us each truly unique. Its no different than wrinkles and gray hair – we have the power to own the life we earn.

  2. 14 years of living and the poem still rings true. It fascinates me that Rumi’s poetry, written in the 12th century, is still so relevant today. Poetry that endures is filled with wisdom. I once read an article in the newspaper about teenagers, i.e., how disrespectful they are, they wear odd clothes, listen to loud music, the usual things that we endure with adolescence. The article was signed by Socrates! lol It is four thirty in the morning and I am starting my day with the banquet of your poetry. Thank you. It is sure to be another wonderful day! hugs, pat

    • Your comment reminds me of how important it is to pay attention to the lessons of history. … I hope you have a wonderful day, and thank you for spending some of your valuable time visiting my blog. Your comments are always welcome and appreciated. 🙂 Be well …

Leave a Reply

